MPC/Vizard Foundation Award for Student Journalism 2013

The Student Journalist of the Year Award recognises and promotes excellence in Victorian student journalism.

A panel of judges asseses entries using the criteria for the Quill Awards, with an emphasis on originality, impact, quality and initiative. All entries must have been published in outlets available to the general public.


The Melbourne Press Club 2013 Student Journalist of The Year Award is sponsored by the Vizard Foundation.


Honour Roll


The 2013 Student Journalist of the Year is Aliyah Stotyn from Melbourne University.

The award, presented by The Melbourne Press Club and sponsored by the Vizard Foundation, was announced at the Club's annual Quill Awards dinner on Friday, 21 March.
The judges praised Aliyah's work in "Facebook Stalking", published on Melbourne University's Citizen news website. The report warned of the risk that lies behind social media and the legal web that can ensnare people who misuse it.

Aliyah receives a $3000 prize, provided by the Vizard Foundation, and a range of work experience and mentoring opportunities at major media outlets.

The judges also highly commended RMIT student Ben Westcott for his report “Local Government Referendum” - published in The Australian - a tale about councils spending ratepayers’ money to support a political campaign.

Two other students were shortlisted for the award:

  • Emma Damiani – Monash University – “Peru Tea” - A story about the dangers to young travellers heading to Third World countries to experience local rituals and cultures, and
  • Julie Milland – University of Melbourne – “Chinese virus” - A story about a mysterious strain of a deadly virus from China, and how Australian authorities dealt with the threat.


Congratulations to Matthew Pierri for winning the 2012 Melbourne Press Club/Siemens Award for Student Journalism.

Matthew Pierri is a fourth year Media and Communications student at the University of Melbourne. His winning entry,"Hope and Healing", was published in The Sunday Age’s feature section, Extra, on June 3, 2012. 

Of his piece, the judging panel said "Matthew produced an engaging, well-researched piece that was highly personal, yet balanced and objective. It was a joy to read from start to finish – leaving the reader richer for the experience."
Matthew examined his own experience as a spinal cord injury patient and the experiences of two others who, despite being encouraged to adapt and accept their injuries, were not prepared to abandon hope of healing and recovery. 

Congratulations also to the Highly Commended entry from Derrick Krusche of the University of Melbourne for his article "The Independents", published in the university’s student newspaper Farrago.

Derrick showed great tenacity in convincing three maverick federal MPs to talk - producing a fresh and highly readable perspective into what makes them tick.


Harrison Tippet  Jane Vashti Ryan


Jane Vashti Ryan & Harrison Tippet | RMIT

View Jane and Harrison's winning entry
  Jenny Denton


Jenny Denton | Monash University

Read Jenny's winning article



Julian Trantino | Monash University

Read Julian's winning article

  Jessica Grace


Jessica Grace | Deakin University

Read Jessica's winning article

  Lisa Martin


Lisa Martin | RMIT

About Lisa



Katherine Wilson | Deakin Univeristy


  Kate Stowell


Kate Stowell | RMIT

About Kate

  Doug Hendrie


Doug Hendrie | University of Melbourne

About Doug