Journalism Awards

The Quill Awards for Excellence in Victorian Journalism
These are the premier media awards for Victorian journalists, with the richest prizes. Quills are awarded in 25 categories, with a Gold Quill for the best category winner. Entries open December each year, with an awards dinner in March. Dinner includes Graham Perkin Australian Journalist of the Year Award, Grant Hattam Award and Young Journalist of the Year.

MPC/Trawalla Foundation Arts Journalism Scholarship
The MPC/Trawalla Foundation Arts Journalism Scholarship was established in 2008 to promote excellence, creativity and originality in reporting, reviewing or critical appraisal of the visual or performing arts such as music, dance, painting, theatre and cinema. The scholarship winner will receive $7500 in travel costs to attend an international arts festival, event or facility selected in conjunction with the Trawalla Foundation..

The Eureka Prize
Sponsored by the Australian Museum, the Eureka Prizes offer two $10,000 awards for science and environmental journalism.

The George Munster Award
A $1000 annual prize given by the Australian Centre for Independent Journalism at the University of Technology, Sydney, for the best "independent journalism of mind, acuity and excellence". The award honors the late freelance journalist George Munster, a co-founder of Nation (later Nation Review) and author of "Rupert Murdoch: A Paper Prince".

The UN Media Peace Awards
These highly-regarded annual awards honor journalists whose work promotes peace and helps to resolve conflicts. Awards in print, radio and television categories, as well as subject matters such as reconciliation and the environment. Entries close around September each year, with an awards dinner in October. Organised by the United Nations Association of Australia.

Victorian Legal Reporting Awards
Presented annually to recognise excellence in legal reporting, these include best reports in print, radio and television as well as legal reporter of the year, best image and best court reporter. Refer to the website for more details.

The pre-eminent national journalism awards.