Graham Perkin Australian Journalist of the Year Award

Entries for the 2012 Graham Perkin Australian Journalist of the Year Award open on Monday 3 December.

The award, in its 37th year, is the most coveted in Australian journalism and carries a $20,000 prize.

The award may be won by a reporter, editor, broadcaster, producer, photographer, cartoonist, illustrator or blogger. It may be won for a single piece of work or a portfolio published or broadcast in calendar 2012.

Anyone can nominate a person for the award. Entries for a member of a team must be accompanied by a letter from the supervisor/editor/producer about the relative contribution made by the individual to the team effort.

Swinburne University, The Age and the Melbourne Press Club are sponsors of the award. It is named after one of the greatest Australian editors who edited The Age from 1966 to his sudden death in 1975.

This year’s judges are Laura Tingle, Laurie Oakes and  Jill Baker.

Past winners include Oakes, Robert Gottliebsen, Peter Smark, Michelle Grattan, Paul Kelly, Robert Haupt, Les Carlyon, Andrew Rule and John Silvester.

Entries close on 1 February 2013. The winner will be announced at the Quill Awards at the Palladium on Friday 15 March 2013.

Who is eligible?

The Perkin is open to any Australian journalist or editor/director whose work appears in the calendar year. Originally established for print journalists, it is now open to broadcast and online journalists.

Nominees may enter themselves or be nominated by their editors.  Colleagues may nominate an editor for outstanding leadership and campaigning. Journalists may nominate people from other news organisations.

Judging criteria

The independent judges are asked to look for journalism that is memorable and excellent. They are asked to reward work that is consistent with the journalism practised by Graham Perkin.

The Perkin award may be won with a single report, a series or a body of work. It may be won by an editor or producer. It may be won by a photographer, cartoonist or artist. It may be won by a reporter, feature writer, specialist writer, commentator or blogger.

One of the features of the Perkin award is that it can be awarded for a portfolio of work throughout the year. But volume alone will not win the award unless it has the prime qualities of being consistently excellent and memorable.


The present judges are Jana Wendt and former winners Paul Kelly and Les Carlyon.

How to Enter

Send a nomination letter, four copies of the work and a photograph of the nominee to:

The Chairman
Journalist of the Year Judging Panel
Melbourne Press Club
GPO Box 769
Melbourne Vic 3001


Michael Smith: 0411 055 306

About the Perkin Award