About the Perkin Award


Click here to see the 2012 Perkin Award winner

Short list announced

Click here to find out who has been short listed


The Graham Perkin Australian Journalist of the Year Award is the grandest prize in Australian journalism. The winner receives $20,000, a plaque and permanent recognition for excellence.

The Perkin is independently administered by the Melbourne Press Club, which appoints the judges. The prize money is supplied by The Age. Swinburne University of Technology supports the award.

It is presented each year at the dinner for the Melbourne Press Club’s Quill Awards for Excellence in Victorian journalism at Crown Palladium.

The award began after Graham Perkin died suddenly in 1975. Many of Australia’s finest journalists have won the award.

Who is eligible?

The Perkin is open to any Australian journalist or editor/director whose work appears in the calendar year. Originally established for print journalists, it is now open to broadcast and online journalists.

Nominees may enter themselves or be nominated by their editors.  Colleagues may nominate an editor for outstanding leadership and campaigning. Journalists may nominate people from other news organisations.

Judging criteria

The independent judges are asked to look for journalism that is memorable and excellent. They are asked to reward work that is consistent with the journalism practised by Graham Perkin.

The Perkin award may be won with a single report, a series or a body of work. It may be won by an editor or producer. It may be won by a photographer, cartoonist or artist. It may be won by a reporter, feature writer, specialist writer, commentator or blogger.

One of the features of the Perkin award is that it can be awarded for a portfolio of work throughout the year. But volume alone will not win the award unless it has the prime qualities of being consistently excellent and memorable.


The 2013 judges are Laura Tingle, Laurie Oakes and Jill Baker.

How to Enter

Send a nomination letter, four copies of the work and a photograph of the nominee to:

The Chairman
Journalist of the Year Judging Panel
Melbourne Press Club
GPO Box 769
Melbourne Vic 3001